Here’s a look at some local news:

Last week during Western New Mexico’s annual Homecoming celebration, several individuals were inducted into the WNMU Hall of Fame. The inductees included: Alumni Hall of Fame Outstanding Alumnus, Mario Quintana and Tim Brancheau, and Distinguished Alumnus, George Young. The Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees included: Ray Cross for football and Meredith Drahota Reischl. In addition, special honors were bestowed on Mike Rowse, who won the Pioneering Award for being among the Conference Champions with WNMU’s 1984 Baseball Team. Congratulations to all to all!

Cynthia Bettison, who serves as a District 1 Silver City Councilor and Mayor Pro Tem, has started her term as president of the New Mexico Municipal League. The league, headquartered in Santa Fe, is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing and serving New Mexico’s cities, towns and villages. According to the NMML, its 106-member cities comprise 100% of the State’s municipal population and approximately 68% of its total population. Its largest member has 10,000 times the population of its smallest, yet each member city casts one delegate vote in setting policy and electing officers at the Annual Conference. Her term began on October 1st will span one year. In addition, Bettison works full time as the director of the Western New Mexico University Museum.

During a tour of the southwest section of the state, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham visited Hidalgo County to witness the CYEQ Lighting Dock Geothermal expansion that focuses on sustainable and renewable energy methods. The Governor toured the facility with CYRQ and PNM representatives. According to the Hidalgo Herald, the new plant has been officially renamed the “Bruce Levy Geothermal Plant” after an industry pioneer who worked the CYRQ on many projects. CYRQ Energy, Inc. is a renewable energy company that focuses in geothermal power development.