Here’s a look at some local news:

The Luna County Board of Commissioners met in an executive session yesterday to discuss personnel matters regarding the county manager’s evaluation. It was determined that the contract of David McSherry as county manager would be terminated effective immediately. McSherry, was approved by the commission on a 2 to 1 vote and began the job in March of this year. According to the Deming Headlight, he was chosen from a pool of six applicant finalists after Bruce Swingle was hired but backed out after a short period of time due to personal reasons. McSherry is a 1975 graduate of Deming High School and has served as a school board member, business owner, engineer, farmer and rancher. He holds a B.A in Agricultural Science and is completing his Master’s Degree in Industrial Engineering.

Employees of PNM have left to travel to California to assist Pacific Gas & Electric with power restoration, repairs and other needs as dangerous wildfires continue to ravage the state. According to a release, approximately nine PNM employees from Santa Fe, Albuquerque, Silver City, Ruidoso, and Alamogordo will be providing assistance to the Sacramento and Davis California areas. The group will work on repairing lines and poles that have been damaged by the wildfires in addition to assist in restoring power to customers. So far, plans are to work in the area for about a week.

Daylight Saving Time ends this Sunday, November 3rd, at 2:00 A.M. At this time, we “fall back” in the fall by setting clocks back one hour. Daylight Saving Time is the practice of moving the clocks forward one hour from Standard Time during the summer months, and changing them back again in the fall. The general idea is that this allows us all to make better use of natural daylight. The current daylight saving period was established with the Energy Policy Act of 2005, which went into effect in 2007. As a result, most Americans now spring forward (turn clocks ahead and lose an hour) on the second Sunday in March (at 2:00 A.M.) and fall back (turn clocks back and gain an hour) on the first Sunday in November (at 2:00 A.M.). The exceptions to DST are Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and American Samoa.