Yesterday, Grant County Sixth Judicial Court Judge, Hector Grijalva, presided over a swearing in ceremony for several Grant County officials who were elected in the November 2022 general election. The following officials were officially sworn in and will begin their 4-year term on January 1st:

  • District 1 Grant County Commissioner, Chris Ponce
  • District 2 County Commissioner Eloy Medina
  • County Assessor Misty Trujillo
  • Grant County Sheriff Raul Villanueva
  • Grant County Probate Judge, Mary Ann Sedillo

In addition, earlier this month, Grant County Commissioners and administrative staff presented a Certificate of Appreciation to outgoing District 2 Commissioner Javier “Harvey” Salas. He was commended for his concern and service to his district in addition to his work with Bataan memorial Park.

New Mexico State Police will be conducting sobriety checkpoints, saturation patrols, including registration, insurance, and driver’s license checkpoints throughout the month of January statewide. According to a news release, this action brings awareness in reducing impaired driving related fatalities by changing society’s attitude about driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs. Stay safe and don’t ever drink and drive.

The team at SkyWest Media/Silver City Radio wish every a safe, healthy and Happy New Year. We also give a special thanks to all our first responders, law enforcement, firefighters, EMT’s, medical personnel, lineman, and all the people who work during the holidays to keep us safe, fed, and warm. Looking forward to a great 2023!