The Luna County recycling collection center recently opened two new recycling centers.  The first new center at Cooke’s Peak is located at 80 Highway 26 Northeast, and Sunshine is located at 895 Sunshine Road Southwest, according to the news release.  The collection centers will accept cardboard, office paper, newspaper, junk mail. catalogs and magazines, tin cans and number 1 and 2 plastic bottles.  Any recyclables dropped in these stations are taken to the Deming Transfer Station and Recycling Center for processing.

Jessica Just, NMRC’s Materials Marketing Manager explains “recycling moves through our economy, creating jobs and retaining value.  This is a stark contrast to burying those same items and paying money to manage them long after we threw them into the trash can.”  This project is thanks in part to the 2010 grant from the New Mexico Recycling Coalition, funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.  Deming and Luna County Residents now have expanded recycling options.

“Keep Luna County Beautiful”

Call 543-6643 to learn more.