Here’s a look at some local news:

The New Mexico Racing Commission has announced that a proposed sixth racino license in the state will not be awarded at this time. According to the Hidalgo Herald, the NMRC released an official statement that “it has decided not to issue a sixth racino license and has left open the possibility of issuing it in the future, but not before significant analysis of the horseracing industry has been completed.” Previous commission members began accepting applications  in 2017 from five groups comprised of locations in Tucumcari, Clovis, and Lordsburg. Each group gave on-site presentations to the commissioners in order to compete for the sixth license for horse-racing and slot gaming.

Grant County Attorney, Abigail Burgess, received a certificate of recognition and a public thank you for 11 years of service to Grant County. Burgess resigned from her position as Grant County in-house attorney at the end of July. The presentation took place at a special meeting of the commission by Grant County Commissioners Chris Ponce, Harry Brown, Alicia Edwards, Billy Billings and Javier Salas.

The famous Buckhorn Restaurant located in Pinos Altos will be closing on September 30th in search for a new location. According to the Grant County Beat, the land and building has been on the on market for sale for over three years. Located seven miles north of Silver City, the Buckhorn Saloon was established in the 1860’s to serve miners that arrived in the area. This historic landmark has been gathering place for many people over the years.

The U.S Congress and the White House have agreed to expand the definition of war eras to include all who served since December 7th, 1941. The “Let Everyone Get Involved in Opportunities for Service Act of 2019 – The Legion Act”, will now honor veterans, spouses, and their descendants with membership eligibility to The American Legion Family. In the past, many of these groups were deemed ineligible. The act changes the American Legion’s criteria from seven war eras to two: April 6, 1917 to November 11, 1918; and December 7, 1941 to a time later determined.