Here’s a look at some local news:

Eight members of the Gaffney-Oglesby Marine Corps League Detachment 1328 attended the New Mexico Department of Veterans Services 11th Annual Honor Guard Conference last week in Albuquerque. The group was awarded 1st Place for the “Large Group Flag Folding-Firing Party” category. The members that competed included: John Pace; Frank Donohue; Don Spann; Richard Luna; George Morrison; John Sterle; Marc MacDonald; and Ben Collins. Silver City Radio wishes congratulations to this great group of patriots. According to the New Mexico Marine Corps League website, the purpose of the Marine Corps League is to care for the families, widows and orphans of Marines and Fleet Marine Force Navy Corpsmen who have served with Marines, both past and present.  They also assist Marines and Fleet Marine Force Corpsmen with Veterans’ program through membership and organization.

Declarations of candidacy and a sworn statement of intent to run for Deming Public School Board or Deming Soil and Water Conservation Board must be filed with the Luna County Clerk’s office between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. by tomorrow, August 27th. Four school board positions and three Deming Soil and Water Conservation District Board seats are up for election on November 5th. The school board positions open for in Districts One, Three, Four, and Five. The Soil and Water Conservation District Board seats open are for land owners in District One and Two, in addition to the District Five seat which is an “at-large” position. The Luna County Clerk’s office is located on the first floor of the Luna County Courthouse, 700 South Silver Avenue.

In Grant County, Declaration of candidacy for the following offices have to be filed between 9:00 AM and 5:00 PM tomorrow Tuesday August 27th, at the Grant County Clerk’s office: Town of Hurley, two councilors and one municipal judge; Cobre Consolidated School District, 2 school board members; Silver Consolidated School District, 3 board members; Grant Soil and Water Conservation District for 3 supervisor members; Hidalgo Soil & Water Conservation District and Upper Gila Valley Arroyos Watershed District.