Upcoming Events

  1. Silver Chorale Spring Concert

    May 19 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Downtown Silver Cam

2016 General Election Results

//2016 General Election Results

2016 General Election Results

Yesterday was Election Day.  Over 100 million people nationwide cast their votes, leading to an upset as Donald Trump claimed a come-from-behind victory over Hillary Clinton.

Statewide across New Mexico, 793,513 voters turned out to the polls, over 61% of the total eligible voters.  District 2 Representative Steve Pearce, Republican, retained his seat with a 62.7% victory over opponent Merrie Lee Soules.  Democrat Maggie Toulouse Oliver earned 56.47% to secure the Secretary of State Position, and Republican Judith Nakamura maintained her seat as a Justice of the Supreme Court with 51.99% of the votes.  Democrat Julie Vargas unseated incumbent Stephen French with a 52.52% victory.  The Constitutional Amendment granting courts new authority to deny release on bail for dangerous defendants earned 87.24% “For” votes, and all four GO Bonds were approved as well.

In the local State Representative races, Democrat Candie Sweetser earned 51.35% of the votes for a victory over Vicki Chavez in District 32, Republican Rebecca Dow won with 54.84% of votes over opponent Mary Hotvedt in District 38, and Democrat Rudy Martinez reclaimed his former seat from incumbent John Zimmerman with 51.05% of the votes in District 39.  Senator Howie Morales ran unopposed to retain his seat in Senate District 28.  Likewise, Senator John Arthur Smith retained his seat in District 35.  Jarod Hofacket ran unopposed to earn the seat of Sixth Judicial District Court Judge, Division 4, and Francesca Estevez maintained her seat as District Attorney.

In Grant County, Democrat Alicia Edwards will be the Commissioner in District 3 after a 54.38% win over Henry Torres, Republican Gerald “Billy” Billings will fill the new District 4 seat with 59.43% of votes over Marilyn Alcorn, and Democrat Harry Browne will take the new District 5 seat with a narrow 50.92% win over Harry Pecotte and write-in candidate Deann Bencomo.  Marisa Castrillo and Steve Armendariz ran unopposed and maintain their seats as County Clerk and Treasurer respectively.  Grant County residents voted “Against” the 4 Mill Levy requested by Gila Regional Medical Center.

In Hidalgo County, Democrat Anthony Mora defeated Robert Barrera by earning 54.5% of votes for Commissioner, Melissa De La Garza ran unopposed in the County Clerk seat, and Republican Tyler Massey maintained his seat as Treasurer over challenger Serena De La Garza by earning 61.39% of the votes cast.  Hidalgo County Residents voted “For” a one-fourth of one percent Countywide Emergency Communications and Medical Services Gross Receipts Tax for Countywide Emergency Communications and Emergency Medical services within Hidalgo County.

In Luna County, Republican John Sweetser was elected to the District 3 County Commission seat with 53.15% of the votes over Crystal Pena.  Democrat Andrea Rodriguez ran unopposed for the County Clerk Seat, and Democrat Gloria Rodriguez earned 56/28% of votes to defeat challenger Tammy Zumwalt.

Results are from the New Mexico Secretary of State website.  If we missed a race you were watching, please visit http://electionresults.sos.state.nm.us/.


By | 2016-11-09T16:07:44+00:00 November 9th, 2016|News|0 Comments